//
you're reading...
Babies, Parenting, Preschool

Real Life Lessons: Don’t Lock Your Kids in the Car

When my sons were little, I was more than a bit frazzled. I was clinically brain-dead. I had two babies within 20 months of each other. I swear I can barely remember the first five years. But there are a few moments I remember very clearly. This was one of them.

My older son was in preschool. The preschool had a buzzer to get in the front door. Once inside, you would wait in the foyer and the child would be brought out to you. The foyer had all kinds of windows. This is an important detail leading up to the decision I made this day.

Don't Leave Baby in the Car

I had my younger son with me in the car. He was still a baby. He was sleeping. Now we all know that you don’t wake a sleeping baby. I was faced with waking him up to take him twenty feet inside to take him back and basically ruin everyone’s entire day. Or…I could leave him in the car. Now, I wasn’t stupid. I would never just leave my child in a car. See, I had two sets of keys. I would leave the car running, so he had the air conditioning on. Climate control. On top of that, I could watch him the entire time, as I would only be 10, 15, maybe 20 feet away at most. And only for a few minutes. And, I would lock the car so that nobody could steal it. Or him.

So I did it. I left the car running, locked the doors and ran out to collect my other baby.

The plan worked very well until I got back to the car a few minutes later.

I didn’t have the second set of keys.

So the police came. The fire department came. All in front of my child’s preschool. And the MANY windows. And the other parents.

Worst. Day. Ever.

So if you are ever tempted to leave your child in the car, for any amount of time, no matter how smart you think you are…don’t do it! You never know what can happen. Or who might be watching when you screw it up.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Real Life Lessons: Don’t Lock Your Kids in the Car

  1. Oooooh, that’s epic. I think I have a phobia now….🙂

    Posted by Amber Perea | April 22, 2013, 11:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Follow on Me on Facebook

